Denbigh Alliance Multi Academy Trust logo

Humanities

Contact Information  
Mrs L Chrisman (Geography)- chrismanl@denbigh.net Miss H Clements (History)- clementsh@denbigh.net
Ms L Conway (History) – conwayl@denbigh.net Miss L Dale (History) – dalel@denbigh.net
Mr P Forster (RE) – forsterp@denbigh.net Ms L Donohue (Humanities)- donohuel@denbigh.net
Miss C Griffiths (Geography)- griffithsc@denbigh.net Mrs R Martin (History) – martinr@denbigh.net
Mr P Myers (Geography) – myersp@denbigh.net Mrs L Oscroft (Geography) – oscroftl@denbigh.net
Mrs H Rowe (Humanities) – roweh@denbigh.net Mrs S Smith (History/RE) – smiths@denbigh.net
Mrs J Staincliffe (Geography) – staincliffej@denbigh.net Mr J Waters (History) – watersje@denbigh.net
Mr L Murphy (History) – murphyli@denbigh.net Ms C Soricelli (History) – soricellic@denbigh.net

Faculty Introduction

The Humanities faculty includes the subjects of Geography, History, and Philosophy and Ethics. The faculty is made up of 17 members of staff that have a range of expertise and subject specialisms. This enables the faculty to deliver a diverse, multi-disciplinary curriculum for all of our students. Our staff are passionate about giving our young people the best possible start to understanding a range of world views and perspectives across all three disciplines.

The Humanities curriculum aims to build a strong community of enquirers that will encourage our students to feel inspired to learn beyond the curriculum and never be afraid to ask questions so that they become well-informed citizens of the world. We have a very successful record of students leaving Denbigh to continue their studies in a Humanities subject at Universities across the country.

In Geography, students will follow Edexcel A-Level Geography and they will explore both physical and human geography concepts such as tectonic processes, the carbon cycle, globalisation, and migration. In History, students will follow Edexcel A-Level History and students will develop and understanding of Russia 1917-1991, Mao’s China 1949-1976, the British experience of warfare c1790-1918, and the causes of the Cold War. In Philosophy and Ethics, students will follow OCR A-Level Religious Studies where students will explore the philosophy of religion, religion and ethics and the developments in Islamic Thought.

Extra-Curricular

As a faculty we offer an extraordinary extra-curricular programme that takes our students beyond the curriculum. We offer many clubs and trips which give our students rich cultural experiences outside

of the classroom.  Our extra-curricular activities include the Magistrates Court Competition, the Bar Mock Trial Competition, the Family Court Competition, Eco schools Satellite Group, Youth SACRE Satellite Group, the Holocaust Memorial Ambassadors group, Black History club, History Club and Philosophy club.

Geography students go to Birmingham and St Margaret’s Bay for fieldwork opportunities in Year 12. Year 13 students have a residential trip to the Lake District to complete their coursework. Philosophy and Ethics students will attend academy conferences in Oxford and Cambridge every year to listen to renown scholars and get the opportunity to meet and engage in debates with students from some of our most prestigious private schools in the country.

Geography students go to Birmingham and St Margaret’s Bay for fieldwork opportunities in Year 12. Year 13 students have a residential trip to the Lake District to complete their coursework. Philosophy and Ethics students will attend academy conferences in Oxford and Cambridge every year to listen to renown scholars and get the opportunity to meet and engage in debates with students from some of our most prestigious private schools in the country.

Schemes of Learning

Each faculty has developed a two-year Scheme of Learning for each subject. The Schemes of Learning outline the curriculum journey that students will embark on during each academic year.

Geography

Philosophy, Religion and Ethics

History

Faculty Assessment and Feedback Policy

Please find a copy of the Faculty Assessment and Feedback policy below. Teachers in the faculty subject areas will follow this policy when assessing students learning and providing feedback.