Denbigh Alliance Multi Academy Trust logo

Mathematics

Contact Information  
Miss G Ali – alig@denbigh.net Mr R Bailey – baileyr@denbigh.net
Mrs R Battaglia – battagliar@denbigh.net Miss A Bolt – bolta@denbigh.net
Mr T Briggs – briggst@denbigh.net Mr J Burgess – burgessj@denbigh.net
Mrs J Burlace – burlacej@denbigh.net Dr L Clark – clarkl@denbigh.net
Dr A Frame – framea@denbigh.net Mrs S Hawkins – hawkinss@denbigh.net
Miss K Hurdle – hurdlek@denbigh.net Mrs S Irshan – irshans@denbigh.net
Mrs L Jaff – jaffl@denbigh.net Ms H Ridout – ridouth@denbigh.net
Mr C Simm – simmc@denbigh.net Mr J Wu – wujo@denbigh.net
Mrs J Werner – wernerj@denbigh.net  

Faculty Introduction

Mathematics is a universal language and with this in mind, our Mathematics faculty aims to engender an enthusiasm and a passion for Mathematics in all students and provide them with the expertise to utilise their skills in a range of situations. We provide a structure for students to develop independence, powers of analysis, and logical thinking. Our curriculum aims to foster a curiosity about Mathematics and how to make links between different strands. Through our specialist teaching, we allow students the opportunity to learn from mistakes and ensure that all students fulfil their mathematical potential in terms of both formal examination results, and more informal learning outcomes.

In Mathematics, students follow OCR (A) A-Level Mathematics which includes a focus on algebra throughout the course. The course also introduces new areas of mathematics and uses applications to model and solve ‘real world’ situations. Further Mathematics follows OCR (MEI) A-Level Further Mathematics which broadens and deepens knowledge of Mathematics beyond the A-level Mathematics syllabus. It is particularly useful for students wishing to study Mathematics, Physics or Engineering at degree level or in work-based study. In Mathematics Studies, students follow AQA Level 3 Mathematics Studies. This course is intended for students who have passed GCSE Mathematics at grade 5 or better, but who have not chosen to study A level Mathematics. Studying Core Maths helps students develop their quantitative and problem-solving skills and it helps them to gain the skills and confidence to apply maths in higher education, and/or the workplace.

Extra-Curricular

Every year our most able mathematicians take part in the National Maths Challenge, and we often have students who are successful at the Challenge being entered for the follow-up national events. We offer after school support to all year groups. The sessions are held in Maths classrooms and students can come and get help on a specific topic or help with homework. Every year a cohort of students from Years 12 and 13 is offered the opportunity to attend the Open University Christmas Mathematic Lectures.

Schemes of Learning

Each faculty has developed a two-year Scheme of Learning for each subject. The Schemes of Learning outline the curriculum journey that students will embark on during each academic year.

Faculty Assessment and Feedback Policy

Please find a copy of the Faculty Assessment and Feedback policy below. Teachers in the faculty subject areas will follow this policy when assessing students learning and providing feedback.