Denbigh Alliance Multi Academy Trust logo

Year Groups, Houses and Tutors

When students start at Denbigh School in Year 7 they are placed in a Tutor Group with other students in Year 7 who are in their House.  Students will stay in a Tutor group with other students in their Year group from Year 7 to 11. Where possible, they remain with the same Tutor throughout this time. 

Students have two Heads of Year, one to support them with their pastoral needs and another to support them with progress at school.  Heads of Year can be found in the Student Support Centre.  Heads of Years stay with their year groups as they move through the school. 

The Tutor will be the main contact for students and their families in-school and can most easily be contacted via email. Tutors see students every morning at 8:30am for Tutorial sessions.

Heads of Year

Year 7

Pastoral Head of Year: Mr S Hoare
Progress Head of Year: Miss J Harris

Year 8

Pastoral Head of Year: Miss G Main
Progress Head of Year: Mrs J Herring

Year 9

Pastoral Head of Year: Miss E. Roche
Progress Head of Year: Mr D Bennett

Year 10

Pastoral Head of Year: Mrs S Wiltshire
Progress Head of Year: Mr M Hairsine

Year 11

Pastoral Head of Year: Mr A Ozgul
Progress Head of Year: Miss G Ali

At Denbigh School we have five Houses which are named after famous Scientists and Engineers






Each House has their own House Council who meet weekly. The House Council collaborates closely with the School Council to give students a voice within School. Students send in a manifesto to their House Champion and elections take place during the Autumn term. Sixth Form students can also apply to become a House President or Vice President. Throughout the year, the Houses compete against each other to earn House points.  There are many different activities that include sports events, quizzes, challenges and music and talent shows that students are able to get involved with.  At the end of the year, the House with the most points wins the House Cup, decorated with House coloured ribbons.

House Champions

Brunel – Miss S Pickard

Curie – Miss K Rigby

Darwin – Miss E Whitehouse

Newton – Mrs M Bedford

Stephenson – Mr S Campbell