Denbigh Alliance Multi Academy Trust logo

Mathematics

Maths Faculty

Mr P Adade-Foli-adadefolip@denbigh.net
Miss G Ali- alig@denbigh.net
Mr R Bailey- baileyr@denbigh.net
Mrs R Battaglia- battagliar@denbigh.net
Miss A Bolt- bolta@denbigh.net
Mr T Briggs- briggst@denbigh.net
Mr J Burgess- burgessj@denbigh.net
Mrs J Burlace- burlacej@denbigh.net
Dr L Clark– clarkl@denbigh.net
Dr A Frame- framea@denbigh.net
Mrs S Hawkins- hawkinss@denbigh.net
Miss K Hurdle- hurdlek@denbigh.net
Mrs S Irshan- irshans@denbigh.net
Mrs L Jaff- jaffl@denbigh.net
Ms H Ridout- ridouth@denbigh.net
Mr C Simm- simmc@denbigh.net
Mr J Wu- wujo@denbigh.net
Mrs J Werner- wernerj@denbigh.net

Faculty Introduction

The Mathematics Faculty comprises a team of specialist teachers and a Faculty administrator. The aims of the Faculty are:

  • To engender an enthusiasm and a passion for Mathematics in all students and provide them with the expertise to utilise their skills in a range of situations.
  • To provide a structure for students to develop independence, powers of analysis and logical thinking.
  • To foster a curiosity about Mathematics and its applications and an ability to make links between different strands.
  • To allow students the opportunity to learn from mistakes.
  • To ensure that all students fulfil their mathematical potential in terms of both formal examination results and more informal learning outcomes.

At present, each year group has the following number of lessons of Mathematics each week:

  • Years 7 and 8: Three lessons
  • Year 9 and 10: Four lessons
  • Year 11: Five lessons

Homework is set at least once a week for all-year groups.

Schemes of Learning

Each faculty has developed a Scheme of Learning for each subject and year group. The Schemes of Learning outline the curriculum journey that students will embark on each academic year.

Useful Websites

Faculty Assessment & Feedback Policy

Please find a copy of the Faculty Assessment and Feedback policy below. Teachers in the faculty subject areas will follow this policy when assessing students learning and providing feedback.

Key Words for Year 7 Mathematics – Summer

Key TermDefinition
AreaThe amount of area taken up by a 2D shape.
VolumeThe 3D space occupied by an object.
CircumferenceDistance around the edge of a circle.
DiameterDistance from edge to edge passing through the centre.
RadiusDistance from the centre of the circle to the edge.
FunctionA relationship that shows how to get from an input to output.
OperationA mathematical process.
InverseOpposite operation.
EvaluateWork out.
CommutativeThe order of operations does not matter.
Co-ordinatesX and y value to plot a point.
intervalA gap between two things.
QuadrantsThe four regions of a graph.
x axisHorizontal scale.
y axisVertical scale.
MeanAverage.
MedianThe middle value (when placed in number order).
ModeOccurs the most often.
RangeThe difference between the largest and smallest.
ReflectTransformation that acts like a mirror.
RotateTurn around a fixed point.
TranslateSlide a ‘figure’ in any direction without changing size.

Key Words for Year 8 Mathematics – Summer

Key TermDefinition
AreaThe amount of area taken up by a 2D shape.
VolumeThe 3D space occupied by an object.
CircumferenceDistance around the edge of a circle.
DiameterDistance from edge to edge passing through the centre.
RadiusDistance from the centre of the circle to the edge.
FunctionA relationship that shows how to get from an input to output.
OperationA mathematical process.
InverseOpposite operation.
EvaluateWork out.
CommutativeThe order of operations does not matter.
Co-ordinatesX and y value to plot a point.
intervalA gap between two things.
QuadrantsThe four regions of a graph.
x axisHorizontal scale.
y axisVertical scale.
MeanAverage.
MedianThe middle value (when placed in number order).
ModeOccurs the most often.
RangeThe difference between the largest and smallest.
ReflectTransformation that acts like a mirror.
RotateTurn around a fixed point.
TranslateSlide a “figure” in any direction without changing size.

Extra Curricular

Every year our most able mathematicians take part in the National Maths Challenge and we often have students who are successful at the Challenge being entered for the follow up national events.  We offer after school support to all year groups.  The sessions are held in Maths classrooms and students can come and get help on a specific topic or help with homework.   Every year a cohort of students from Years 12 and 13 is offered the opportunity to attend the Open University Christmas Mathematic Lectures.