Denbigh Alliance Multi Academy Trust logo

English & Media

English and Media Faculty

Mrs E Attrik- attrike@denbigh.net
Mrs J Booth- boothj@denbigh.net
Mrs S Brawn- brawns@denbigh.net
Mrs H Brown- brownh@denbigh.net
Mrs R Davis- davisr@denbigh.net
Miss L Dolling- dollingl@denbigh.net
Miss S Ford- fords@denbigh.net
Miss K Dilley– dilleyk@denbigh.net
Miss V Lambert- lambertv@denbigh.net
Mr L Looker- lookerl@denbigh.net
Miss K O’Brien- obrienk@denbigh.net
Ms S Patel- patelsu@denbigh.net
Ms A Stevenson- stevensonam@denbigh.net
Miss J Harris– harrisj@denbigh.net
Mr S Williams- williamsst@denbigh.net Miss I Ridley– ridleyi@denbigh.net

Faculty Introduction

Staff in the English and Media Faculty work closely together as a team to ensure that lessons across the school are consistently challenging and engaging.

Schemes of Learning

Each faculty has developed a Scheme of Learning for each subject and year group. The Schemes of Learning outline the curriculum journey that students will embark on each academic year.

English

Media

Key Words for Year 7 English – Summer

Key TermDefinition
Stanza  A group of lines forming the basic recurring metrical unit in a poem; a verse.
Enjambment  (in verse) The continuation of a sentence without a pause beyond the end of a line, couplet, or stanza.
AlliterationAlliteration is the repetition of the initial consonant sounds in a line or series of lines of poetry.  This creates a pleasing sound effect which adds humour or power to your poetry.
Simile  A simile is a comparison of two objects using the words ‘like’, ‘as’ or ‘than’.
Metaphor  A metaphor is a comparison of two objects saying one is (was, am, are, were) the other.
Rhyme  Correspondence of sound between words or the endings of words, especially when these are used at the ends of lines of poetry.
Rhythm  The measured flow of words and phrases in verse or prose as determined by the relation of long and short or stressed and unstressed syllables.
Caesura  (in modern verse) A pause near the middle of a line
Personification  The attribution of a personal nature or human characteristics to something non-human, or the representation of an abstract quality in human form.
Onomatopoeia  Onomatopoeia is when the sound of a word is similar to its meaning.  These words imitate the natural sounds of objects, people and actions.  

Key Words for Year 8 English – Summer

Key TermDefinition
FormStyle, design, and arrangement in an artistic work.
LanguageThe style of a piece of writing or speech.
AudienceThe spectators, listeners or readers.
SubjectA person or thing that is being discussed, described, or dealt with.
PurposeThe reason for which something is done or created or for which something exists.
CultureThe ideas, customs, and social behaviour of a particular people or society.
TravelGo from one place to another.
AnecdoteA short amusing or interesting story about a real incident or person.
Context  The circumstances that form the setting for an event, statement, or idea, and in terms of which it can be fully understood.
Second-person narration  A technique of narrative in which the action is driven by a character ascribed to the reader, one known as you. The reader is immersed into the narrative as a character involved in the story. The narrator describes what “you” do and lets you into your own thoughts and background.  

Extra Curricular

In the English and Media faculty, we offer a range of extra-curricular activities for students including a Debating Club and Creative Writing Club.  We have taken part in debate competitions with other local schools and we participate in writing competitions throughout the year.   When possible, we organise theatre trips to enable students to experience first-hand the literature they are studying.  We also invite theatre groups into school to perform some of our set texts and bring them to life for our students.