Denbigh Alliance Multi Academy Trust logo

Science

Science Faculty

Mr Q Berriman- berrimanq@denbigh.net
Mr S Campbell- campbells@denbigh.net
Mr W Dymock- dymockw@denbigh.net Mr R Gopal- gopal@denbigh.net
Mr M Hairsine- hairsinem@denbigh.net
Mrs J Hallam- hallamj@denbigh.net
Ms E Hanby- hanbye@denbigh.net
Ms S Harriman- harrimans@denbigh.net
Mrs J Herring- herringj@denbigh.net Ms L Kewney -kewneyl@denbigh.net
Mr M List- listm@denbigh.net
Mrs N Menni- mennin@denbigh.net
Miss L Pretorius- pretoriusl@denbigh.net
Miss E Roche- rochee@denbigh.net
Mr B Rosie- rosiew@denbigh.net Mr J Stoddart– stoddartj@denbigh.net
Mrs P Verma- vermap@denbigh.net
Mrs S Wiltshire- wiltshires@denbigh.net

Faculty Introduction

Science is a core subject for all students in years 7-11, and the faculty teaches the traditional academic Science subjects of Chemistry, Physics and Biology up to A2 level.

Schemes of Learning

Each faculty has developed a Scheme of Learning for each subject and year group. The Schemes of Learning outline the curriculum journey that students will embark on each academic year.

Biology

Chemistry

Physics

Key Words for Year 7 Science – Summer

Key term Definition
Boiling pointThe temperature at which a substance boils.
Change of stateThe process by which a substance changes from one state to another.
CondensationFormed when a gas changes into a liquid.
EvaporateThe change of state from liquid to gas that occurs when particles leave the surface of the liquid only. It can happen at any temperature.
Melting pointThe temperature at which a substance melts.
MixtureA material whose properties are not the same all the way through.
independent variable The independent variable is the one which we (the experimenters) change.
dependent variable The dependent variable is the one which changes because we change the independent variable.
control variable A control variable is a variable which is deliberately kept the same.
hypothesishypothesis is a statement which can be tested scientifically, for example: the amount of carbon dioxide absorbed by a plant is proportional to the light intensity.
prediction prediction is a statement of what we expect to happen when a hypothesis is tested, for example: if the light intensity is doubled, the amount of carbon dioxide absorbed by the plant will double.
chemical storeEnergy stored in food and fuels.
conductionA way in which energy is transferred through solids, and to a much lesser extent in liquids and gases.
conductorA material that conducts charge or energy well, such as a metal or graphite.
convectionThe transfer of energy by the movement of gases or liquids.
convection currentThe movement of heated liquids or gasses.
dissipatedEnergy that has become spread out or ‘wasted’ by heating the environment.
elastic storeEnergy stored when objects change shape.
energyAssociated with changes in temperature or with work.
energy resourcesMaterials or mechanisms for heating or generating electricity.
energy storeSomething such as a food or hot object that enables you to account for the energy at the start and end of a transfer.
gravitational potential storeEnergy due to the position of an object in a gravitational field.
insulatorA material that does not conduct electricity or transfer energy well.
joulesThe unit of energy, symbol J.
kinetic storeEnergy of moving objects.
law of conservation of energyEnergy cannot be created or destroyed, only transferred.

Key Words for Year 8 Science – Summer

Key TermDefinition
ammeterA device for measuring electric current in a circuit.
ampsUnits of measurement of electric current, symbol A.
batteryTwo or more electrical cells joined together.
cellA chemical store of energy, which provides the push that moves charge around a circuit.
currentThe flow of electrical charge (electrons) around a complete circuit per second.
electronA negatively charged particle found in atoms. Electrons flow through a wire when a current flows.
ohmsThe unit of resistance, symbol Ω.
parallelA circuit in which there are two or more paths or branches for the current.
potential differenceA measure of the push of a cell or battery, or the energy that the cell or battery can supply.
resistanceHow difficult it is for current to flow through a component in a circuit.
seriesA circuit in which components are joined in a single loop.
voltageA measure of the strength of a cell or battery used to send a current around a circuit.
voltmeterA device for measuring voltage.
voltsUnits of measurement of voltage, symbol V.
balanced dietEating food containing the right nutrients in the correct amounts.
carbohydrateNutrient that provides energy.
deficiencyA lack of minerals, that causes poor growth.
depressantA drug that slows down the body’s reactions by slowing down the nervous system.
digestionProcess where large molecules are broken down into small molecules.
digestive systemGroup of organs that work together to break down food.
drugChemical substance that affects the way your body works.
enzymeSpecial protein that can break large molecules into small molecules.
fibreProvides bulk to food to keep it moving through the digestive system.
lipidsNutrients that provide a store of energy and insulate the body.
nutrientEssential substance that your body needs to survive, provided by food.
proteinNutrient used for growth and repair.
stimulantA drug that speeds up the body’s reactions by speeding up the nervous system.